Board of Advisors

Meet our Board

Innovative & passionate

Dr. Desmond Dev Menon

Director and Founder | R3Gen

A multifaceted, self-directed, and disciplined medical research scientist with a combination of 20 years of experience in academia and the clinical pathology laboratory and the pharmaceutical manufacturing industry.

Director/Founder of R3Gen, a research lab-based start-up created to facilitate greater
translation of medical science knowledge from research to implementation.

Creating opportunities for better direction, knowledge transfer, efficacy and value in medical research through fostering greater collaboration between medical research and commercial industry partners.

Assoc. Prof. Simon Laws

Advisory Board Member

School of Medical and Health Sciences where he leads the Collaborative Genomics Group.

Simon is also currently the Deputy Chief Scientific Officer of the Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) for Mental Health.

Currently leads The Collaborative Genomics Group, within the Centre of Excellence for Alzheimer’s Disease Research and Care part of ECU’s School of Medical and Health Sciences. His research primarily focuses on understanding the genetic and epigenetic architecture of Alzheimer’s Disease and related phenotypes, such as changes in memory performance and pathognomonic features. His group utilizes an integrative “omic” approach to Alzheimer’s Disease research through combining genetic, epigenetic and comprehensive longitudinal phenotype data.

Professional Associations

  • 2014 – present: Australasian Neuroscience Society (ANS)
  • 2013 – present: Alzheimer’s Association International Society to Advance Alzheimer’s Research and Treatment (ISTAART) – including membership of the Blood-based Biomarker Professional Interest Area (PIA)
  • 2012 – present: Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB)
  • 2011 – present: Australian Society for Medical Research (ASMR)

Dr. Navneet Jalani (MD, MBBS)

Advisory Board Member

2nd Registrar, Anatomical Pathology,

Royal Children/Women’s Hospital,

Australian Medical Council

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Carol Bracewell

Advisory Board Member

Director and Founder of the W.A. School of Pathology, a nationally accredited pioneering institute in blood and specimen collection science in Western Australia since 1998.

Over 25 years of experience in delivering high quality training and certification to medical health professionals including doctors, nurses, paramedics, commercial laboratory personnel, as well as medical research personnel including Professors in medical science, laboratory research staff and university students.

Contributed to medical research in Western Australia through fostering collaborative opportunities between universities by facilitating phlebotomy services and skills towards medical research projects since 2014.

Established a working clinic dedicated to sample collection for fertility clinics and medical research in 2016.

Collaborating with R3Gen, a medical research company, to provide opportunities for phlebotomist to retain or retrain crucial knowledge, skills and experience.

Key member in medical science discussions concerning pre-analytical sample quality.


Kelvin Oh (MAACB)

Advisory Board Member

Senior Scientist, Clinipath

Australasian Association of Clinical Biochemist, (MAACB)

Western Australian Branch, Committee Member


An experienced Senior Scientist, with over 20 years of experience in the hospital & health care industry where he has a demonstrated history of recognition and professional endorsement for his strong professional skills in Quality Control, Business Process Improvement, Management, and Leadership. In his current role, he also helps to ensure that both internal QC and NATA accreditation requirements are met.